Leftover Hash

Standard

Use the best eggs you can get. Clarence Court, if Possible, available in Waitrose/Morison’s/Sainsbury. Tesco’s Eggs are shit, don’t use them!

Use the best eggs you can get. Clarence Court, if Possible, available in Waitrose/Morison’s/Sainsbury. Tesco’s Eggs are shit, don’t use them!

Adding Colour, this adds flavour.

Adding Colour, this adds flavour.

Looking better, tasting really good, if only I had a better camera.

Looking better, tasting really good, if only I had a better camera.

Not looking that exciting

Not looking that exciting

Onion, potato, egg, smoked paprika, cumin, Tabasco.
A clove of garlic sliced, or a garlic clove bashed (intact, skin on) is optional.
Toasting cumin, then grinding it, is the way to getting maximum flavour here. The smokiness of paprika and cumin is a great combination. Go very easy on the Tabasco; a little kick is all that’s required. Tabasco’s sharpness should not rule the dish.
Sliced shallot or onion (I had half an onion). Use a knife, a mandolin will be too fine a cut. The onions will cook before they caramelise. They will more likely burn.
I broke up the potatoes a bit when frying them; rough edges means caramelised sticky yuminess. I sound like Jamie.
Adding Stock, not all at once I added four hits of stock allowing the dish to absorb this each time. You don’t want baby food at the end, so easy with the stirring.
Near the end, I put a lid on the pan to cook the top of the eggs.
I finished the dish off with Chive flowers, after reading Legend Niamh Shields had done the same. Mothers Garden has chives. Coriander or parsley would be a nice finish or a small bowl of minted yogurt on the side perhaps? But don’t go shopping for it. Remember, this is a leftover recipe.
I used homemade duck stock; I had six pints of it. I would have normally used a chicken stock cube, probably OXO. Seasoning with less salt if using a stock cube. Black Pepper is very welcome in this recipe.
Great hash combinations, I would like to hear them

About doesthebellyrulethemind

Stewart Lee,Food (teach my taste buds), Hugh Fearnley,Gordon Ramsay, Clare Smyth,my mother,Ken Hom ,Street Feast, Pitt Cue, Rockfish,Deliah Smith (pre cheating), Bread Street Kitchen, Borough Market, Jamie Oliver, Pipers Farm, my x girlfriend for teaching me,Waitrose. Foraging (wild is wonderful) Fun (life should be) Music (you name it) Cinema (so many) Amnesty International and all Human Rights people!!

Leave a Reply

