Three Sisters

Standard

My camera, does not show you, the flavour of this dish.

My camera, does not show you, the flavour of this dish.

Easy Soda Bread, cooks while the squash bakes.

Easy Soda Bread, cooks while the squash bakes.

Not the best photo

Not the best photo

Here is another great one from Jamie’s America book, often forgotten, in the light of 15 min. meals and other books. I have cooked some cool things from the America book. I intend to cook some more. It’s a great read, with lots of colour and stories.
This being a Navaho Indian part of the book, our Dartmoor Hogget and Lamb was ideal. Hopefully I use mutton at some point for this recipe, that would be the business. I pity the fool that uses factory farmed lamb.
I used neck fillet instead of recipe shoulder this was a quicker cooking cut: nearer 1.5hrs total instead of 2.5hrs plus. That said this dish is pretty forgiving so an extra 15 or 30 mins would not do too much damage. It’s just a case of checking what your meat is doing. I would avoid using salt at the beginning if you’re using stock cubes. I used homemade duck stock, so had more control over the seasoning.
Overall this is another winner 09/10 Thank you Jamie and crew.
We finished the meal with mothers amazing Strawberry tart and Elderflower cream.
Elderflower cordial is a must make. You dont have long, before the flowers are gone. The syrup can be used in many ways. The cream was very light and still holding shape, possibly the lemon in the elderflower syrup was helping with this.
Looking forward to visiting Fifteen again in November when we are both in London. The new menu is getting amazing reviews. Our previous visits have been very good.

About doesthebellyrulethemind

Stewart Lee,Food (teach my taste buds), Hugh Fearnley,Gordon Ramsay, Clare Smyth,my mother,Ken Hom ,Street Feast, Pitt Cue, Rockfish,Deliah Smith (pre cheating), Bread Street Kitchen, Borough Market, Jamie Oliver, Pipers Farm, my x girlfriend for teaching me,Waitrose. Foraging (wild is wonderful) Fun (life should be) Music (you name it) Cinema (so many) Amnesty International and all Human Rights people!!

Leave a Reply

