Fish Balti

Standard
Fish Balti ,simple salad, Elderflower cordial.

Fish Balti ,simple salad, Elderflower cordial.

I have been making fish curries recently. I have even used a shop bought paste made by Pataks , not something I usually do. I recommend Patak brand if you choose the same route. This one used Pollack, I have used ling( I browned the ling first as it holds firm shape).Starting with a base of onion garlic or onion garlic ginger, I had no ginger. Then adding tinned coconut milk, what a result. I now have an off cut bag in the freezer for fish curry. The other thing I did was to marinade the fish in ¼ – ½ a lime and pinch of salt, for half an hour to 1 hour,then using something clean to pat it dry(tea towel kitchen paper). This is something I saw Atul Kochhar doing on T.V. It makes a great difference. Don’t forget to taste your curry as you may or may not need to use salt. Coriander at the end if you have any , I did not.
This would be great using prawns or frozen fish (not everyone gets fresh fish like I do). You could add peas or green beans to this. A simple salad is needed for the side(no dressing) or just a flat bread or plain rice. I have Elderflowercordial in the picture as well. I guess lemonade (real deal) is popular in India. I must research this.
Which paste so many to choose, I used Balti. But feel free to experiment.

About doesthebellyrulethemind

Stewart Lee,Food (teach my taste buds), Hugh Fearnley,Gordon Ramsay, Clare Smyth,my mother,Ken Hom ,Street Feast, Pitt Cue, Rockfish,Deliah Smith (pre cheating), Bread Street Kitchen, Borough Market, Jamie Oliver, Pipers Farm, my x girlfriend for teaching me,Waitrose. Foraging (wild is wonderful) Fun (life should be) Music (you name it) Cinema (so many) Amnesty International and all Human Rights people!!

Leave a Reply

