I Love Curry

Standard

Mussels with Saffron

Mussels with Saffron


Saffron Mussels : yet another superb dish from Anjum Anands ,I Love Curry book. The previously made Bengali Fish Curry was also superb. My mother cooked one of her vegetable curries , again superb results. I am really looking forward to trying more of her recipes.
Bengali yogurt fish

Bengali yogurt fish

The Teign Mussels were also bang on, better than the ones I foraged from that area. Teign Mussels beat Exmouth mussels for sure.
My chilli plant cost £3 (reduced from £5)from Waitrose, just the right type for Indian food. Its giving a fantastic yield of chilli, the second batch are coming through as we speak.
I followed the mussels, with coconut and lime ice cream. The recipe from Nadia and Cesar Rodens ‘Ice Kitchen’ Book. Originally an Ice Lolly recipe . The end result a cross between ice cream and sorbet. Great flavour combo very refreshing. Homemade ice cream can be a hit and miss affair, but it’s well worth doing. Don’t bother with magimix ice cream makers. My cheap one is not the best , but it’s better than the magimix one I used before.

About doesthebellyrulethemind

Stewart Lee,Food (teach my taste buds), Hugh Fearnley,Gordon Ramsay, Clare Smyth,my mother,Ken Hom ,Street Feast, Pitt Cue, Rockfish,Deliah Smith (pre cheating), Bread Street Kitchen, Borough Market, Jamie Oliver, Pipers Farm, my x girlfriend for teaching me,Waitrose. Foraging (wild is wonderful) Fun (life should be) Music (you name it) Cinema (so many) Amnesty International and all Human Rights people!!

Leave a Reply

