Crayfish Risotto

Standard
Never throw away prawn heads/shells

Never throw away prawn heads/shells

Next day, leftover risotto turns into  Arancini

Next day, leftover risotto turns into Arancini

Slightly dry, my error while resting the risotto.

Slightly dry, my error while resting the risotto.

Ivy Fish Prawns beat these supermarket flops any day

Ivy Fish Prawns beat these supermarket flops any day

Ferron make the best rice, Waitrose is not bad http://www.risoferron.com/

Ferron make the best rice, Waitrose is not bad
http://www.risoferron.com/

Good chefs, show respect for the planet

Good chefs, show respect for the planet

 

So today was back to the healing beach. With the words Pilchard at the end of it , it must be a healing beach.

Inspired by another amazing day on the beach, its risotto time.

I love risotto, for a good one you need to put love in to it. Walk away from a risotto, it will flop.There is a 30 second window on right and wrong risotto according to Michele Roux junior. I thought it was 45 seconds. But Michelle is a fucking amazing chef, so I guess he is right!

I love the discussions risotto creates. I don’t think any other dish creates such? Philosophy, science, spirituality, creativity, ingredients, are just a few things that are mentioned  with risotto . For instance: always stir the rice in the same direction, Italians stir out the devil. I stir in my heart/love, in a clockwise direction. Various regions of Italy have different ideas, they will be very passionate about them. Food is passion.

 

It’s been ages since I have done a risotto . I have a bundle of prawn heads/shells to make the stock with. Ivy fish gave me a free fennel bulb. It makes perfect sense. Alas I had to use supermarket crayfish, it could of been worse. I used a small bottle of white wine, I prefer using Noily Pratt I must get another bottle. Waitrose supplied the rice. I always make more than is necessary , tomorrow will see the excess turned in to  arancini (translates to little oranges)/Italian  rice balls.

Despite some over seasoning the risotto was OK, not the best. I think Ivy Fish prawns would of been much better, see previous posts especial taste of the sea with crab risotto.

It seems one of my friends is perhaps in need of the healing beach? I will be sending a bundle of good ideas up north at the weekend. Big shout and love to my friends up north.

About doesthebellyrulethemind

Stewart Lee,Food (teach my taste buds), Hugh Fearnley,Gordon Ramsay, Clare Smyth,my mother,Ken Hom ,Street Feast, Pitt Cue, Rockfish,Deliah Smith (pre cheating), Bread Street Kitchen, Borough Market, Jamie Oliver, Pipers Farm, my x girlfriend for teaching me,Waitrose. Foraging (wild is wonderful) Fun (life should be) Music (you name it) Cinema (so many) Amnesty International and all Human Rights people!!

Leave a Reply

