Dartmoor Ribs (in a Pitt Cue Styleee)

Standard
Pitt Cue Pork from West Peak Farm/ Ugborough Sustainable

Pitt Cue House Rub on Pork from West Peak Farm/ Ugborough Sustainable 

On the side Cous Cous, squash, apple, spring onion, coriander.

On the side: Cous Cous, squash, apple, spring onion, coriander.

Back on the ribs again, the local meat Guru has given me some quality pork ribs (thank you). I have the Pitt Cue book from the Library. I am using their House rub, which I made this morning. I brined the ribs first for an hour or so. Heston’s brine recipe is simple and works well. Brining ribs is the key to success.

I am as I type awaiting a foil package of rubbed ribs to cook, I going for an hour. Time will tell. I will finish them of open if needed. . An hour was enough, 20 mins open at 180 degrees in a fan oven.

The Pitt cue book is amazing, I’m going to max it from the library for sure. Solstice presents are defiantly in there.

Pitt Cue House Rub

Ingredients

  • 10g Fennel Seeds
  • 1 tsp Cumin Seeds
  • 1 tsp Black Pepper
  • 1 tsp Coriander Seeds
  • 100g Dark Brown Sugar
  • 10g Garlic Powder
  • 100g Salt
  • 15g Smoked Paprika
  • 30g Paprika
  • 1 tsp Dried Oregano
  • 1 tsp Cayenne Powder
  • Toast the Fennel Seeds, Black Pepper, Cumin and Coriander in a dry pan until you start to smell their fragrances; turn off the heat and let the Spices cool down
  • Once cooled whizz the whole Spices up with the Sugar, Garlic Powder, Salt, Paprika, Smoked Paprika, Dried Oregano and Cayenne Powder

I used good old Pestle and mortar to grind my spices you may have a spice grinder, I’m old school. I love using the pestle.

  • The end result will be a fine powder, that has lots of uses.                                                                                                                                                                                                                              I put Squash on the side as its in season at the moment

Chefs note remember to rinse brine off thoroughly, this was a bit salty, next one will be amazingly better. The ribs were as expected superb. Ugborough Sustainable that’s where the best meat is.

Pitt Cue House rub on amazing pork!

Pitt Cue House rub on amazing pork!

 

*Around the corner, I hope is sea buckthorn curd, the more I read the more I want to make this. Sea buckthorn meringue tart/pie could be on the blog soon. This is the meat guru’s idea, genius. That said I have wanted to do something with sea buckthorn for ages. I didn’t realize exactly what it was. Now I do.

About doesthebellyrulethemind

Stewart Lee,Food (teach my taste buds), Hugh Fearnley,Gordon Ramsay, Clare Smyth,my mother,Ken Hom ,Street Feast, Pitt Cue, Rockfish,Deliah Smith (pre cheating), Bread Street Kitchen, Borough Market, Jamie Oliver, Pipers Farm, my x girlfriend for teaching me,Waitrose. Foraging (wild is wonderful) Fun (life should be) Music (you name it) Cinema (so many) Amnesty International and all Human Rights people!!

Leave a Reply

