On My Bike ,Seafood.

Standard
Native Oyster? Easy to miss, amongst the rocks!

Native Oyster? Easy to miss, amongst the rocks!

Small rock oyster.

Small rock oyster.

Native Oyster?

Native Oyster?

Another trip to the beach, cycling through some rain showers to a sunny  end. Mussels were the main catch, there are less mussels around than previous trips. I am pretty sure over collecting is the reason. Time to move to another mussel bed. Not everyone forages responsibly, like I do. I suspect there could be fishing bait involved?

The largest Oyster, found to date makes me think it could be a Native.  It wasn’t attached to the rocks. It was nice, but I prefer the smaller ones. I am still a big fan of “fines de Claire” oysters.

So Mussel Potato Gratin was the end result of my trip. Nice enough, the mussel liquor was salty, so I had to be cautious when adding this to the sauce.

Devon ,Only me  on the Beach, pretty cool huh!

Devon ,Only me on the Beach, pretty cool huh!

Cycling has got easier, as a result of my healthier diet. Hugh Fearnly Whitingstalls new book Light and Easy is well worth investing in. Also we all need to take some litter off the beach,even if it is not yours!

Smoked Bacon, White Sauce(including pepper corn and bay), Potato, breadcrumbs Parmesan.

Smoked Bacon, Wild Mussels,White Sauce(including pepper corn and bay), Potato, breadcrumbs, Parmesan.

 

One big oyster! Nice as this was,I prefer the small ones.

One big oyster! Nice as this was,I prefer the small ones.

About doesthebellyrulethemind

Stewart Lee,Food (teach my taste buds), Hugh Fearnley,Gordon Ramsay, Clare Smyth,my mother,Ken Hom ,Street Feast, Pitt Cue, Rockfish,Deliah Smith (pre cheating), Bread Street Kitchen, Borough Market, Jamie Oliver, Pipers Farm, my x girlfriend for teaching me,Waitrose. Foraging (wild is wonderful) Fun (life should be) Music (you name it) Cinema (so many) Amnesty International and all Human Rights people!!

Leave a Reply

